Draft, not yet reviewed

For doctors, dietitians and nurses

Measured Plate sets no limits. It shows what is in a portion of food, beside the limits you gave your patient.

What it does

What it never does

Where the figures come from

Every food figure comes from a record in USDA FoodData Central (Foundation Foods, SR Legacy, or the survey foods database). One food maps to one record, and each food page shows the record number. Figures are calculated from unrounded values per 100 grams and rounded once, for display. Where the numbers come from

When a figure is missing

If the source record has no figure for a nutrient, the page says “not reported”. A day’s total that includes such a food reads “at least”, with the number of items not reported. This matters most for phosphorus, which United States labels are not required to list.

What it keeps

No account is needed. Limits and meals are stored in the browser on the person’s own device, and they can export or erase them at any time.

Who wrote it

Written and checked by Rafiq Khan, MD, PhD.

A handout for your patients

One page to print. It has blank lines for you to write the person’s limits by hand.

Open the handout

There is no charge for this, nobody will contact you, and nobody is paid for recommending it.