Milk: whole and low sodium

Milk, whole: 95 milligrams of sodium in 1 cup.

Milk, low sodium: 7 milligrams of sodium in 1 cup.

Both foods are shown for the same measure: 1 cup.

In 1 cup of each food

Sodium

Milk, whole
95 milligrams of sodium in 1 cup
Milk, low sodium
7 milligrams of sodium in 1 cup

Potassium

Milk, whole
374 milligrams of potassium in 1 cup
Milk, low sodium
617 milligrams of potassium in 1 cup

Phosphorus

Milk, whole
251 milligrams of phosphorus in 1 cup
Milk, low sodium
210 milligrams of phosphorus in 1 cup

Protein

Milk, whole
8.1 grams of protein in 1 cup
Milk, low sodium
7.6 grams of protein in 1 cup

Carbohydrate

Milk, whole
12 grams of carbohydrate in 1 cup
Milk, low sodium
11 grams of carbohydrate in 1 cup

Sugars

Milk, whole
12 grams of sugars in 1 cup
Milk, low sodium
11 grams of sugars in 1 cup

Fiber

Milk, whole
Fiber: not reported for this food.
Milk, low sodium
0 grams of fiber in 1 cup

Saturated fat

Milk, whole
4.6 grams of saturated fat in 1 cup
Milk, low sodium
5.3 grams of saturated fat in 1 cup

Calories

Milk, whole
149 calories in 1 cup
Milk, low sodium
149 calories in 1 cup

Weight of this portion

Milk, whole
249 g
Milk, low sodium
244 g

This page shows the figures as the source reports them. It does not say which food to choose.

Typical value: brands differ, so check the label. Check a label

Why is a figure not reported?

The source record for this food gives no figure for that nutrient. Not reported means the amount is unknown. It does not mean there is none.

Where these numbers come from

Milk, whole: USDA FoodData Central, Foundation Foods, record 746782. The source describes it as: Milk, whole, 3.25% milkfat, with added vitamin D.

Milk, low sodium: USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy, record 170875. The source describes it as: Milk, low sodium, fluid.

U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, Beltsville Human Nutrition Research Center. FoodData Central. [Internet]. [cited 11 October 2026]. Available from https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/. Releases used: Foundation Foods, April 2026; SR Legacy, April 2018; Survey Foods (FNDDS 2021-2023), October 2024.

Data built on 11 October 2026 (data-2026-10-11).

Report an error in a number

Compare two foods